OPENNESS TO CHANGE

Tuesday, February 9, 2016

 “Now after John was arrested, Jesus came to Galilee, proclaiming the good news of God, and saying, ‘The time is fulfilled, and the kingdom of God has come near; repent, and believe in the good news.’” (Mk 1: 14-15)

 

Earlier this morning in downtown Vienna I saw a little girl walking to school in a princess costume, because Ash Wednesday is coming up and the celebration of “Fasching” (the pre-Lenten carnival) is in full swing here. The costumes signify a readiness for transformation or transition – in a general sense, from winter to spring, and in a christianized sense – from darkness to light, in “repentance” (“metanoia,” meaning a change of mind or focus).

 

Today I’m grateful for this reminder to be open to change, the change made possible by “the good news” (even if for me Lent is still several weeks away). Let me be open to change today, where it is possible and needed, asking God for the courage, wisdom, and power to carry it out according to His will. And let me “believe in the good news” of the change He brings me, rather than fearing change, letting Him establish His kingdom in my life, as He sees fit.

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Friday, December 6, 2019

Thursday, December 5, 2019

Tuesday, December 3, 2019

Monday, December 2, 2019

Sunday, December 1, 2019

Friday, November 29, 2019

Thursday, November 28, 2019

Wednesday, November 27, 2019

Tuesday, November 26, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by