WORK AS PRAISE

Monday, October 5, 2015

 

Praise him with the sound of trumpet; praise him with lute and harp. Praise him with tambourine and dance; praise him with strings and flute…” (Ps 150: 3-4)

 

This Psalm mentions various man-made instruments, calling us to “praise” God not only through words, but also through various products of our God-given creativity, through various art-forms and any work we do. It is a refreshing fact that God is praised, His name is “hallowed,” not only through the beauty of His creation, but also through the work of our hands.

 

This Monday, at the beginning of my work-week, let me approach my work, whatever it may be, as “praise” to the Lord. In practical terms this means, first, asking for His guidance and help in prayer, letting go of self-reliant fears. It also means tending to my responsibilities in His Spirit, as a service to others; letting His grace into the picture of any conflicts/difficulties, so that His gifts of gratitude, wisdom, humility, courage, and patience enlighten my behavior and time-management. And finally, it means handing over the outcome of my efforts, be it success or failure, gratefully into His hands. “Let every breath praise the Lord.” (Ps 150: 5)

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Monday, November 11, 2019

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Friday, November 8, 2019

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Monday, November 4, 2019

Saturday, November 2, 2019

Thursday, October 31, 2019

Wednesday, October 30, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by