SELF-CENTERED FEAR

Thursday, September 17, 2015


The Lord is my light and my saviour-- whom shall I fear? The Lord is the defender of my life-- of whom shall I be afraid?” (Ps 26/27:1)

 

The opposite of faith is self-reliance, which breeds fear and anxiety. Whenever I cease to lead a God-centered life, whenever I neglect to put myself, everything, and everyone in His hands, I am left alone to play God on the stage of my concerns, challenges, situations, and relationships. Of course I inevitably find that I’m ill-suited for this role, because my own shoulders are simply too insecure a foundation for the burdens of the world. This insecurity is what brings all sorts of fear into my life, like fear of people’s opinions, of failure, or of economic insecurity.

 

Faith turns all of this around. And by faith I don’t mean just holding “firm beliefs” in my mind, or going to church once a week. By faith I mean letting God’s grace into my life, by connecting with Him, in prayer, on a daily basis. I mean letting Him into the picture of any situation, relationship, or “plan” for the future.

 

Let me let Him in today, and ask Him, at least briefly, to do for me what I cannot do for myself. I need not fear when I walk in His kingdom, where He alone is King. “For Thine” – not mine – “is the kingdom, the power, and the glory, of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, now and ever, and unto the ages of ages.” Amen!

Tags:

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Friday, November 15, 2019

Thursday, November 14, 2019

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Monday, November 11, 2019

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Friday, November 8, 2019

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Monday, November 4, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by