WATCHING MY WORDS

Thursday, August 13, 2015

 

“Set a guard over my mouth, O Lord; keep watch over the door of my lips.” (Ps 140/141:3) “O Lord, open my lips, and my mouth will declare your praise.” (Ps 50/51:15)

 

It is interesting to contemplate these two psalm-verses alongside each other. One of them asks the Lord to “guard” my mouth, while the other asks Him to “open” it. Of course, when the Psalms were first composed, well over two thousand years ago, the spoken word was the only kind most people used. Back then, most people did not have the resources to employ the written word, nor, obviously, did they have the keyboard or the phone to type their opinions and thoughts, as we do today.

 

So today, when I recite these verses of the Psalms, I ask that the Lord guide my use of words, not only when I am saying them out loud, but when I am typing them on my keyboard or on my phone. Because today, strangely, I type many more words than I say aloud. The Psalm-verses remind me that I need God’s help in discerning when I need to share my words, and when I need to withhold them; when I should click “Send,” and when I should abstain from that. Today let me remember to ask for the wisdom to know the difference.

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Saturday, January 25, 2020

Friday, January 24, 2020

Thursday, January 23, 2020

Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Tuesday, January 21, 2020

Sunday, January 19, 2020

Friday, January 17, 2020

Thursday, January 16, 2020

Wednesday, January 15, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by