KEPT BY GRACE

Monday, August 10, 2015

 

“Help us, save us, have mercy on us, and keep us, O God, by Your grace.” (Petition from a litany of the Byzantine Liturgy) 

This brief text is repeated several times in almost every liturgical service of the Byzantine Rite. It is so simple, and yet so instructive, reminding me of two simple truths: 1.) that it is grace by which I receive salvation; by which I receive mercy, and by which I am “kept” going, through all the ups and downs of everyday life. And 2.) that this “grace” comes not from inside me, but from God. It is His uncreated energy, which He shares with those in communion with Him. So, we ask for it in prayer.

Today I begin my week with these words in mind, and repeat them often in my heart. I can repeat them often, because God is an energy-source that is never exhausted, never runs out. “Help us, save us, have mercy on us, and keep us, O God, by Your grace.”

Tags:

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Thursday, November 14, 2019

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Monday, November 11, 2019

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Friday, November 8, 2019

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Monday, November 4, 2019

Saturday, November 2, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by