UNREASONABLE FORGIVENESS

Wednesday, August 5, 2015

“Then Peter came and said to him, ‘Lord, if my brother sins against me, how often should I forgive? As many as seven times?’ Jesus said to him, ‘Not seven times, but, I tell you, seventy times seven.’” (Mt 18:20-22)

 

I read the above passage this morning and thought: What kind of person would sin against another certain person “seventy times seven”? It sounds like someone stuck in the same sinful routine, and falling into it over and over again – like an addict. And this person, says the Lord, is to receive forgiveness, over and over again, - as “unreasonably” simple as that may sound.

 

But in fact this is the “unreasonable” way God approaches my sins, many of which I tend to repeat, over and over again. He forgives me, over and over again.Let me be grateful for this amazing fact today, and do likewise.

 

Let me throw “reason” to the wind, when it comes to oft-repeated sins against me. Let me forgive myself and others, because forgiveness, very simply, sets me free.

 

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Tuesday, January 28, 2020

Monday, January 27, 2020

Saturday, January 25, 2020

Friday, January 24, 2020

Thursday, January 23, 2020

Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Tuesday, January 21, 2020

Sunday, January 19, 2020

Friday, January 17, 2020

Thursday, January 16, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by