HURRY AND COME DOWN

Wednesday, July 22, 2015


“(Zacchaeus) was trying to see who Jesus was, but on account of the crowd he could not, because he was short in stature. So he ran ahead and climbed a sycamore tree to see him, because he was going to pass that way. When Jesus came to the place, he looked up and said to him, ‘Zacchaeus, hurry and come down; for I must stay at your house today.’” (Lk 19: 3-5)

 

Zacchaeus is a rich tax-collector, which means he led a corrupt life and became rich by corrupt means. But he makes this small effort to see Christ, by – rather awkwardly – climbing up a tree. And then Jesus unexpectedly rewards Zacchaeus’s awkward effort, telling him to come down, because He wants to visit the corrupt tax-collector’s house.

 

I also make some efforts, often awkward ones, to get a glimpse of Christ. And I know, frankly, that my life isn’t what it should be, and that these “efforts” aren’t what they should be either. I don’t pray nor read the word of God nearly enough.

 

Nonetheless, the little I do can make me feel like I’ve “climbed” a bit higher, above the heads of other people.

 

Today let me hear the Lord’s loving and unexpected voice, telling me to “hurry and come down.” Otherwise, perched as I awkwardly am, in my little tree, I can’t greet Him in my house. He needs my feet planted firmly on the ground of humility, as His were, so He can break bread with me.

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Thursday, February 20, 2020

Wednesday, February 19, 2020

Tuesday, February 18, 2020

Monday, February 17, 2020

Sunday, February 16, 2020

Saturday, February 15, 2020

Friday, February 14, 2020

Thursday, February 13, 2020

Wednesday, February 12, 2020

Tuesday, February 11, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by