GROWTH THROUGH PAIN

Tuesday, July 21, 2015

“Early on the first day of the week, while it was still dark, Mary Magdalene came to the tomb and saw that the stone had been removed from the tomb. So she ran and went to Simon Peter and the other disciple, the one whom Jesus loved, and said to them, ‘They have taken the Lord out of the tomb, and we do not know where they have laid him.’” (Jn 20: 1-2)

 

When Mary Magdalene (together with the other women) initially delivers the news of the empty tomb to the disciples, she thinks that the news is bad. Her feelings, at this point, are sorrow and unpleasant surprise. The unnamed “they” are blamed; “They” have taken her beloved Lord.When someone or something I love is taken from me, let me not attribute to “them,” whoever they are, what God has done. Because God does not do anything with the purpose of causing me harm. Through the pain of separation He leads me to growth and new life, as it happens at birth: the mother experiences pain in labor, and the baby immediately cries upon separation from the mother’s womb. We know that the initial tears of both mother and child are a good thing, because they’re a sign of new life and new growth. Just like the Cross is a sign of victory.

 

Today I remind myself of this sign, if I am faced with the pain of separation in any form. And I ask, in prayer, for the grace to grow through it, in the light of His glorious resurrection. “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless a grain of wheat falls into the earth and dies, it remains alone; but if it dies, it bears much fruit.” (Jn 12: 24)

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Monday, November 11, 2019

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Friday, November 8, 2019

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Monday, November 4, 2019

Saturday, November 2, 2019

Thursday, October 31, 2019

Wednesday, October 30, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by