EMPTY PRIDE

Friday, July 17, 2015


“He has scattered the proud in the thoughts of their hearts. He has brought down the powerful from their thrones, and lifted up the humble; he has filled the hungry with good things, and sent the rich away empty.” (Lk 1: 51-53)

 

These words, spoken with great joy by Mary, the Mother of God, remind me today of the effects that pride and, conversely, humility, have on my heart and my life. When my heart ventures over to prideful self-reliance, (sometimes very subtly) disregarding God’s presence, I remain alone with the chaos of my own thoughts and ambitions, which, without the guidance of His grace, equal emptiness. My thoughts become “scattered,” because they have lost their focus.

Humility, on the other hand, gently reminds me of my insufficiency without God, and brings me to ask for help. I recognize my hunger for the “good things,” and that they come not from inside me, but from God.

 

Today I ask Her who is Full of Grace, the Mother of God, for guidance in humility, that I not be left alone and empty.

Tags:

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Thursday, February 20, 2020

Wednesday, February 19, 2020

Tuesday, February 18, 2020

Monday, February 17, 2020

Sunday, February 16, 2020

Saturday, February 15, 2020

Friday, February 14, 2020

Thursday, February 13, 2020

Wednesday, February 12, 2020

Tuesday, February 11, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by