SOLITUDE

Wednesday, July 15, 2015

“And after he had dismissed the crowds, he went up the mountain by himself to pray. When evening came, he was there alone…” (Mt 14:23)

 

Did Jesus really “need” solitude, at the top of a mountain, to pray? As Son of God, One of the Holy Trinity, I presume He was in constant communion with the Father and the Holy Spirit. But He did take on my humanity, in all its entirety, and here He demonstrates a very human need: to take time out for solitary prayer, at some appropriate place (in this case, an unspecified mountaintop).

 

I need to remember this need, among my other needs: I need occasional solitude, and an appropriate place or places, specifically “to pray,” to have a conversation with God. In the present-day it is especially easy for me to forget this human need, because I can take my mobile device anywhere, and be “connected” to everyone else.

 

Today I shut off my connection to everyone else, for just a bit of time after I wake up, to connect with Him in prayer, and in some quiet reading of His word. Because He showed me that to do so, in solitude, is human.

 

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Wednesday, February 19, 2020

Tuesday, February 18, 2020

Monday, February 17, 2020

Sunday, February 16, 2020

Saturday, February 15, 2020

Friday, February 14, 2020

Thursday, February 13, 2020

Wednesday, February 12, 2020

Tuesday, February 11, 2020

Monday, February 10, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by