CROSS-CARRYING LOVE

Thursday, July 2, 2015

 

“Then Simeon blessed them, and said to Mary his mother, ‘Behold, this child is destined for the fall and rising of many in Israel, and for a sign which will be spoken against. Yes, a sword will pierce through your own soul also, that the thoughts of many hearts may be revealed.” (Lk 2:34-35)

On this occasion, when Jesus is brought into the temple on the fortieth day after His birth, St. Simeon prophetically tells Mary, the Mother of God, about a “sign,” and about the “sword” that shall pierce Her soul. He is talking about the cross. More specifically, he is talking about Her cross, because Her love for Her Son made His cross Her own.

These words carry a sad message about those who will “speak against” the Cross. But they also celebrate the love for Christ exemplified by the All-Holy Virgin, and all others who, through love, become co-carriers of His cross. Today the cross continues to “reveal the thoughts of many hearts,” including my own. I can take it up today, or shrink away from it, or even “speak against” it, in different ways. Let me embrace it today, in the same Spirit as She did, in the Spirit of love for Her divine Son. And today I ask for grace-filled help on this journey from Her, who as a co-carrier of the cross is “full of grace.”

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Monday, November 11, 2019

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Friday, November 8, 2019

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Monday, November 4, 2019

Saturday, November 2, 2019

Thursday, October 31, 2019

Wednesday, October 30, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by