CONFESSION AND BELONGING

Saturday, June 20, 2015

”Confess your sins to one another, and pray for one another, that you may be healed.” (James 5:16)

At times, all sorts of things can make me a bit squirrelly about ”confession”: fear, denial, shame, self-isolation, or simply indifference.

 

But when I do bring myself to reveal, first to myself and then to God and another, the burden I’ve been carrying around, hiding, denying, and yet resenting – the burden of the misdirection of my will, called “sin,” – when I bring this out and “con-fess,” I literally “say together with” God, and the fellowship of my Church, the truth about myself. This truth sets me free from self-isolation and brings back my sense of belonging. That is, belonging to God and the rest of humanity. My burden is shared, when I share it in confession. It is no longer carried on my shoulders alone. I come home to humility and light and peace. As corny as that perhaps sounds on this fine Saturday morning.

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Sunday, January 19, 2020

Friday, January 17, 2020

Thursday, January 16, 2020

Wednesday, January 15, 2020

Monday, January 13, 2020

Sunday, January 12, 2020

Friday, January 10, 2020

Thursday, January 9, 2020

Tuesday, January 7, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by