COMPASSION

Tuesday, June 9, 2015

 

“When he saw the crowds, he was moved to compassion for them, because they were worn out (ἐσκυλμένοι) and neglected (ἐρριμένοι), like sheep without a shepherd.” (Mt 9:36) 


The crowds described here are “worn out,” or, as we would say today, stressed out. And they are “neglected” or abandoned, scattered, left to their own devices. Both these conditions, of being stressed or neglected in some way, or perhaps rejected in some way, are something most of us experience from time to time, maybe even on a daily basis. Let me note that Jesus is moved to compassion when He sees this.


Let me also note that these two feelings – 1. stress and 2. some form of neglect or rejection, small or large – are the primary reasons for a “bad mood,” not only for me, but for other people as well. Before I react to my own issues or other people’s today, let me remember that when Jesus sees us, He is moved to compassion. 


(Please pray for me, zillions, because I'm leaving for Moscow in a couple of hours, for meetings of the Interconciliar Presence of the Russian Orthodox Church (the commission on Canon Law and the one on Liturgy). Will be back in Vienna on Saturday. Sharing a picture of the Sea of Galilee, for no particular reason, except that it gives me a good feeling)

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Monday, February 24, 2020

Sunday, February 23, 2020

Saturday, February 22, 2020

Friday, February 21, 2020

Thursday, February 20, 2020

Wednesday, February 19, 2020

Tuesday, February 18, 2020

Monday, February 17, 2020

Sunday, February 16, 2020

Saturday, February 15, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by