NOT UNDERSTANDING “GOD’S WILL”

Sunday, June 7, 2015

“Thy will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.” (The Lord’s Prayer, Mt 6: 10)

 

These words, addressed to the Father, Who is in heaven, are first prayed by Christ, Who was here among us, on earth, when He prayed them. Through Him and in Him the will of the Father was being done “on earth, as it is in heaven.” And so God’s will continues to be done on earth, through Christ and in Christ.I might not understand what “God’s will” is in my various situations, prospects, relationships, and so on. And that’s OK, because figuring out God’s will is not a commandment. Desiring it is. That is, recognizing that my own will isn’t enough.Today I do understand that my will isn’t enough. My own ambitions, motivations, and intentions easily go astray by something like self-seeking; they can also be paralyzed by fear, sloth, or whatever. I know I need to leave room for the grace of God’s perfect will, to keep my will on track. Daily communion with Christ opens that door, when I pray with Him, “Thy will be done.”

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Wednesday, February 19, 2020

Tuesday, February 18, 2020

Monday, February 17, 2020

Sunday, February 16, 2020

Saturday, February 15, 2020

Friday, February 14, 2020

Thursday, February 13, 2020

Wednesday, February 12, 2020

Tuesday, February 11, 2020

Monday, February 10, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by